***PLEASE NOTE: BigCommerce doesn't yet provide us all of the web-hooks necessary to be able to note all Product changes (specifically ones that are saved inline/automatically by BigCommerce), and so we strongly recommend clicking the "Save" button on your Product page periodically when updating/editing a Product.
This will ensure that ALL aspects of the Product are being saved by BigCommerce while you're working on it, in the way Rewind needs in order to be able to properly back those Product changes up for you to your Vault.***
When you rewind a BigCommerce Product, you're rewinding the Product to a previous state, or bringing back a deleted Product. Here's what happens to the information in the Product:
- Product details - including the Title, Description, Prices, SKUs, etc. - are all restored to the way they were.
- When rewinding a deleted Product, all the Product reviews are added to the Product. Regardless of which version of the Product you're rewinding to (even if the reviews happened after that date), all the reviews are added back to the Product. If you're simply updating a Product, the reviews aren't changed.
- The Product is added to the Category / Categories it was in at the date / time you're rewinding to. If the Category / Categories don't exist, they will be created. If they have been renamed, the Product will be added to the Category / Categories with the new name.
- SEO information is not yet saved or restored in a rewind.
- Per BigCommerce's rules, the Product ID is changed when you rewind a deleted Product. This may impact other services / integrations that rely on the Product ID.
- As Rewind operates using BigCommerce's V3 API (which doesn't support Option Sets, as BigCommerce intends to faze them out in the future), Rewind was not able in the past to automatically backup and/or rewind your Products' Option Sets. We've since reconfigured our system so that this can be done manually by our dev team, and this will likewise be integrated into our automated system within the coming weeks.
- As Rewind can currently only backup your Complex Rules but not rewind all of them within your app's UI, rewinding a Product with Complex Rules could result in those Rules being wiped from the version you're restoring it back to. Should you have many Complex Rules that you absolutely cannot lose, we recommend contacting us at firstname.lastname@example.org before rewinding a Product, to see if we can manually assist you with this task.